Sat, Sept 04

|

Club Balattou

Djepola (Cameroon) - $ 10

• Traditional Bamilike music • Present in the African musical landscape for twenty years, it promotes modern music rooted in ancestral culture.

Djepola (Cameroon) - $ 10

S'Y RENDRE

Sept 04, 2021, 9:00 p.m.

Club Balattou, 4372 Boul. Saint-Laurent, Montreal, QC H2W 1Z5, Canada

EN SAVOIR PLUS

His real name Honoré Noumabeu, Djepola is an author, composer, singer and instrumentalist of Cameroonian origin from the Bamiléké ethnic group. Present in the African musical landscape for twenty years, it promotes modern music rooted in ancestral culture.

One foot in Montreal, where he settled a few years ago, and one foot in Cameroon, Djepola is following in the footsteps of his elders Tamwo Isidore, Sam Fantomas.

Over time, Djepola resists the wave of current musical currents and traces its own path, creating a musical current combining Meuteuh, Danji, Bendskin, Dimassa and Lessa.

With Samali Soukous, his fifth opus released under the Productions Miss Meuré label, Djepola is back in force, highlighting Samali, a traditional Bamileke rhythm from Cameroon and, Soukous, a rhythm from the Congo.

Djepola's new album "SAMALI SOUKOUS"  released on September 18 under the Productions Miss Meuré label, is a 6-track record whose themes oscillate around the difficulty of contemporary Africans in appropriating the Western colonial heritage while remaining faithful to the values that constitute their ancestral traditions. .

sam. 04 sept. | Club Balattou

Djepola (Cameroun) - 10$

• Musique traditionnelle Bamilike • Présent dans le paysage musical africain depuis une vingtaine d'années, il fait la promotion d’une musique moderne enracinée dans la culture ancestrale.
Djepola (Cameroun) - 10$

Heure et lieu

04 sept., 21:00
Club Balattou, 4372 Boul. Saint-Laurent, Montréal, QC H2W 1Z5, Canada

À propos de l'événement

De son vrai nom Honoré Noumabeu, Djepola est un auteur, compositeur, chanteur et instrumentiste d’origine camerounaise de l’ethnie Bamiléké . Présent dans le paysage musical africain depuis une vingtaine d'années, il fait la promotion d’une musique moderne enracinée dans la culture ancestrale.

Un pied à Montréal, où il s’est installé il y a quelques années, et un pied au Cameroun, Djepola marche sur les traces de ses aînés Tamwo Isidore, Sam Fantomas.

Au fil du temps, Djepola résiste à la vague des courants musicaux actuels et trace son propre chemin, créant un courant musical alliant le Meuteuh, le Danji, le Bendskin, le Dimassa et le Lessa.

Avec Samali Soukous, son cinquième opus paru sous le label Productions Miss Meuré, Djepola revient en force, mettant de l’avant le Samali, un rythme traditionnel bamiléké du Cameroun et, le Soukous, un rythme du Congo.

Le nouvel album de Djepola "SAMALI SOUKOUS"  paru le 18 septembre dernier sous le label Productions Miss Meuré, est un disque de 6 titres dont les thèmes abordés oscillent autour de la difficulté des Africains contemporains à s’approprier l’héritage coloniale occidentale tout en restant fidèles aux valeurs qui constituent leurs traditions ancestrales.

Partager cet événement